OTS Launches Regional Security Supervisors Conference

In the pursuit of promptly addressing the outstanding security concerns on security screening operations, the Office for Transportation Security (OTS) held a two-day Regional Security Screening Supervisors Conference on 12-13 December 2022 at the OTS Main Office. The conference, which sought to hear the updates on the regional initiatives being done to address the security concerns, was attended by fourteen (14) OTS Regional Heads on cluster areas 1 to 12 and provided an avenue for supportive atmosphere between the management and outlying airport stations.

During the conference, OTS Regional Heads presented the status of security at each airport stations, and laid down concerns such as non-operational security screening equipment, office dues, and other operational support needed to sustain the effective implementation of security screening processes and procedures.

For his part, OTS Administrator Undersecretary Ma.O Aplasca vowed to concentrate on strengthening security screening operations nationwide by offering administrative and management support, as well as by instituting transformation to bring back public confidence in transportation security.

“When I went to the US to observe their security screening operations, na-realize ko na dapat natin pagtuunan ng pansin ang screening rather than focus on our regulatory functions, yung audit and inspection. These are just checks and balances. We have to focus more on how we can strengthen, capacitate, and motivate our personnel on the ground.” Usec. Aplasca said.

Joining the conference were Noreen Ramolete of Regional Office Area 1, Eugene Caronan of Regional Office Area 2, Joselito Marayag of Regional Office Area 3, Fredelito Barcenas Regional Office NCR, Jonathan Gabuco of Regional Office Area 4, Edna Caballero of Regional Office Area 5, Bernadette Cachopero of Regional Office Area 6, Glendale Ramos Regional Office Area 7, Lizel Mondejar of Regional Office MCIA, Neri Ortiz of Regional Office Area 8, Julius Canizar Regional Office Area 9, Aileen Gairanan of Regional Office Area 10, Noah Enano of Regional Office Area 11, and Rosemarie Bago of Regional Office Area 12.

Also in attendance during the conference were OTS Deputy Administrator Assistant Secretary Nixon Fortes, Administrative and Finance Service Director Jose Briones Jr., Transport Security Policy and Program Service Director Maria Delia Presquito, Transport Security Risk Management Service Director Edgar Danao, Transport Security Accreditation and Training Management Service Michael Africa, Legal Service OIC-Director Karen Lim, Transport Security Oversight and Compliance Service OIC-Director Rodelio Jocson, and respective Division Chiefs.

Leave a Reply