DOTr Sec. Bautista Opens 2 New Edsa Busway Stations

Department of Transportation (DOTr) Secretary Jaime J. Bautista today (August 4, 2022) led the formal opening of two additional busway stations: the Roxas Boulevard and Taft Avenue Busway stations.

Together with the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA), the addition of the Roxas Blvd and Taft Avenue Busway stations is part of the Department’s objective of continuous improvement of the road transport sector through various initiatives.

“Dito po sa Department of Transportation (DOTr) hindi po tayo titigil. Mag-iisip tayo ng paraan para magkaroon po ng accessible, affordable, convenient and safe travel para sa ating lahat” DOTr Sec. Bautista emphasized.

The EDSA Busway project is a joint undertaking of the DOTr, MMDA and Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH). The project features dedicated median lane for buses with stations built at the median island, allowing for more efficient travel by avoiding conflict with connecting streets, driveways, commercial centers and curbside drop-off points.

The EDSA Busway system has reduced travel time from Mall of Asia in Pasay City to Monumento in Kalookan from 2-3 hours down only to 1 hour 30 minutes.

Secretary Bautista commended its private and government partnership for their support to promote safe and comfortable travel for commuters.
“Ako po ay nagpapasalamat sa lahat ng tumulong para ito ay maganap. Unang una sa MMDA. Nagpapasalamat din ako sa Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH). Sila po ay instrumental para maitayo itong additional bus stations natin,” Sec. Bautista said.

“Nagpapasalamat din ako kay LTFRB Garafil sa mga ganitong addtional facilities para maibsan ang hirap ng ating mga mananakay,” he added.

Joining the Secretary at the ceremony were Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board – LTFRB Chairperson Atty. Cheloy Valicaria-Garafil; MMDA Director for Traffic Enforcement Group; Atty. Victor Nuñez; MMDA Head for Task Force Special Operations and Anti-Colorum Unit Edison Nebrija; MMDA OIC for Traffic Engineering Center Engr. Francisco Pesino Jr.; I-ACT Charlie Del Rosario; Mega Manila Consortium President Robbie Torres; ES Consortium President Elena Ong; and Boysen Marketing Executive Mr. Vergel Dyoco.

Leave a Reply